top of page

Engineering a Fidget Spinner

Updated: Feb 4, 2019

My fidget spinner that I've created is a simple design made from the Mod - T 3D printing machine. The internet had inspired me to do this design because there were different types of fidget toys but my classmates and I wanted to make our own. Fidgeting occurs because the body has elevated levels of stress hormones, which are prepping your muscles for sudden exertion. It's a small toy comprising two or three prongs arranged around a central bearing, designed to be spun by the fingers as means of improving concentration or relieving stress. I wanted to make a fidget spinner differently but that was a very hard idea. Making this fidget spinner was very tough because of the dimensions, you have to make everything perfect in order for things to go correctly. It me a lot of test runs because I couldn't get the dimensions exact, but i finally got it and I am very happy for the success. The steps of the Engineering Design Cycle is to empathize, define, ideate, create and prototype, test and evaluate, then do it all over again until everything is pitch perfect and looking better than ever.

Failure

Success / Perfection

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page